You are Here:
Seeking feedback for my minimalistic deck of (extended) playing cards

Author (Read 14285 times)

selfthinker

• Newcomer
I have recently designed my own deck of playing cards.
I’m not a designer but I always loved playing cards. My interest in them is mostly from the playing aspect, I love the idea of a game system and the versatility of them. And I love unusual designs. I don’t own many decks (less than 10) but love looking at interesting designs online.

I got into designing this set for three reasons: a) I had recently discovered game-icons.net, b) I designed my own version of Love Letter first which gave the direction of this specific style and c) I wanted more than 4 suits.
I’ve only designed them for myself, but I’d be happy to open the designs up on MakePlayingCards’s marketplace if anyone is interested. (I printed mine via MPC.) This is not a commerical project, just a fun hobby project.

I’ll explain some of my design choices. I have already found a couple of flaws which I have fixed in a new version. But before I’m going to print those, I’d love to get some feedback. I’ll show my improved version at the end.

General design

I like dark backgrounds and minimalistic, simplistic, flat, abstract designs. After making my own Love Letter version recently, making playing cards in a similar style was the natural next step.

When I had the physical cards in my hands, I noticed that because every suit has its own background colour, you can sort of tell the suit from looking at the cards from the side in some situations. I wonder how much of a problem that would be in practice?

I tried to fix that by adding a same-coloured border to the front of the cards. But whatever I did, it never looked right. I think I’ll just live with that design flaw, unless I find something that works and looks good.
Instead I also designed a version with a light background. Cards from that will definitely not reveal their suit.