You are Here:
hey everyone im new here, from Tennessee

Author (Read 501 times)

hey everyone im new here, from Tennessee
« on: July 01, 2016, 03:33:05 PM »

BigTeddy297

• Newcomer
Hello I'm just starting to get into the card scene. I've been playing poker for a couple of years and now i want to start collecting cards i was wondering if you guys had any suggestions to what to get first and what would be cool and flashy to bring to poker night?

Re: hey everyone im new here, from Tennessee
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2016, 10:08:27 AM »

Kruser

• 52 Plus Joker Member
  • True Member
  • Erlanger or Bust!!
Welcome BigTeddy!

A good place to start your collection (and where I started mine!) is the USPCC/Bicycle website (bicyclecards.com).  You can order some pretty cool decks that you probably haven't seen in stores. I would also suggest joining their Club 808 - it's free and gives you access to even more exclusive decks! Take a look at Archangels, MetaLuxe, and the Aviator Heritage Edition - all cool and flashy!

If you are looking for something a bit more exclusive (ie. pricey!), take a look at the decks at Ellusionist (ellusionist.com). Many of these would be amazing to bring to your next poker game!

Hope that gets you started!
Be careful ... this hobby can get out of control quickly!

Kruser
"The mind is like a parachute - It works best when it's open." - Frank Zappa

Re: hey everyone im new here, from Tennessee
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2016, 06:47:02 AM »

Don Boyer

• VP/Dir. Club Forum/DAC Chair, 52 Plus Joker
  • Administrator
  • Forum Sentinel
  • Pick a card, any card...no, not THAT card!

• Facebook:
Most people start their collections with the various "color change" decks - Bicycle Rider Backs in different colors of the rainbow.  If that's your thing, great - but most collectors I know just ignore them after a while.  In today's custom market, they're pretty tame by comparison to what's available.