You are Here:
A more formal introduction

Author (Read 1049 times)

A more formal introduction
« on: February 01, 2013, 06:29:53 PM »

sr15

• Discourse Veteran
So I've been posting here for a few months now (I think I joined back in November?), but I never got around to doing one of these. My name is Mike, I'm 22 years old and I'm from Chicago...area, though I usually just say Chicago because it's easier. I pretty much do everything related to cards, and it varies from day to day what I'm feeling. More recently I've been practicing cardistry/flourishing, while about a month or two ago I was practicing gambling sleights and shuffles mainly, and of course I started out with magic which I still do from time to time. Also I have a pretty decent card collection, but not as extensive as some card collections I've seen (I'd say around 70 decks total right now).

I got into cards around March last year IIRC, so I've been practicing for about ten months. It was kinda strange how it happened. For whatever reason I got really into Penn & Teller Bullshit in late 2011, which eventually led to me watching Fool Us, and that is what eventually led me to picking up magic for myself. The rest followed along after that. I got into cardistry after watching Decksandcontest's video on the sybil cut, then I got Dangerous and Trilogy and have been practicing that ever since. I'd say my biggest interest is in magic/gambling sleights more than the actual tricks, which is also a big reason why I do cardistry. I really only do magic spontaneously, and usually while drinking which kind of makes it harder, so that's definitely not what motivates me to practice. It's more like I really just enjoy getting better at moves or flourishes, i.e. I'd practice the classic pass rather than practicing a specific trick, and it's mostly because I like to see the improvement in the moves.