You are Here:
A brief introduction

Author (Read 659 times)

A brief introduction
« on: June 18, 2013, 11:37:24 AM »

pmkane

• The art of seeing what is invisible to others.

• Facebook:
Hello group!

This is my first time here and I thought I'd take a moment to introduce myself . . . I am a photographer and graphic designer with a love for cards and a very brief career in magic back in my late teens/early twenties. While the magic is now reserved for close friends and family (and the occasional bar bet) my love for cards has always remained. One of my first big gigs as a fine art photographer was work on a deck of 'paranormal cards' called Konxari Cards. I've begun researching the process of a Kickstarter Campaign to help in the creation of a deck of cards based on my photography! I am a member of the Bicycle 808 club and when I found out about their 'design-a-deck' contest, I decided to give it a go - having only found out about it 3 days before the contest deadline, I whipped together a camera related card back - and wouldn't you know it, I won!

So this gives me some much needed confidence to move forward with the deck  . . . a very exciting time! In my research, I came across this forum and thought I'd join up. Looking forward to reading all the posts and such . . .

Thanks for your time . . .

Paul Michael Kane
www.paulmichaelkane.com

Re: A brief introduction
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2013, 03:42:08 PM »

Alex Willis

• Discourse Royalty
  • A penny saved is worthless

• Facebook:

• Kickstarter:
Welcome Paul, great card back.  I'd be interested to see what you have in store for your deck.  Will it be photography work or images on cameras?  Kickstarter is becoming a very popular place for card designers and there are a lot of great decks out there, but you'll find that it's a tough market.  Card collectors are a very discerning crowd and these forums provide a lot of chatter and feedback.  I have to say that the people here are friendly, honest and helpful.