You are Here:
SurrealScapes body art and creative photography

Author (Read 4119 times)

SurrealScapes body art and creative photography
« on: December 12, 2012, 03:31:31 AM »

Zaid

• True Member
Hello folks,

My name is Zaid. I'm new to the world of cards. I'm an artist and photographer specializing in body art and creative photography. I've been doing photography for 16 years, over the last 10 years I've focused on bodypainting and body art, but since 2007, I have narrowed my art to a technique I call "lightpainting", which is art created by projecting images onto live models and photographing the result. You can see high-res samples of that art here: images.surrealscapes.net/Artwork/Lumens and if you want to learn more about the technique you can check out some video here: vimeo.com/channels/surrealscapes

One day three months ago, on a whim, I put together a deck of cards featuring my artwork, knowing nothing about cards and what makes a good deck. You can see that deck here: www.fineartplayingcards.com. I didn't make any attempt to customize the images for the cards, I just slapped a different art piece on each card face, added generic indices and pips, and that was that. The tuckbox ain't nothin' special neither. I used a small printer in Florida and printed 100 decks and put them up for sale on Amazon, just to see what they would do. They're actually doing pretty well so far, and the interesting thing is that they're being purchased mostly by women, i.e. 70% of the buyers so far have been women. I imagine these buyers to just be people who like the artwork and not particularly card enthusiasts, but I really have no way of knowing.