You are Here:
beginner cardistry

Author (Read 10464 times)

beginner cardistry
« on: January 21, 2013, 11:07:14 PM »

homeyg10

• Newcomer
hey guys im pretty new to cardistry so i was wondering where to go and what to learn i can already do the spring and just spin a card on the deck soo i cant do much but anyways thanks for the help

Re: beginner cardistry
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2013, 11:56:40 PM »

Joker and the Thief

• Discourse Deity
  • Joker and the Thief Playing Cards

• Facebook:

• YouTube:
Hey man! Firstly welcome to the Discourse.

Now lets get down to business.

To start off you should learn the very basics. You can get some basic information and free video tutorials from Dan and Dave. http://www.dananddave.com/learn/media/ The Cardistry tutorials should be on the second page.

Once you master those, you should work on slighlty more advanced flourishes from either YouTube or Andrei Jihk's Genesis Volume 1 and 2. Then go on to more advanced flourishes from Solo, PaperCuts, the Trilogy and the System.

It is important that you define your own style and create your own flourishes but that will come in time. Also, you will need inspiration when practicing, learning and creating floursihes so watching videos from Dan and Dave Buck, Michael James, Andrei Jihk, Tobias Levin, Oliver Sogard, Chris Hestnes, Allan Hagen and Jordan Lapping can help. The list of Cardists goes on and on.

Cards are an integral part of our craft so you need to find cards that will suit your style and your taste when it comes to handling. Handling tends to be more important than aesthetics when it comes to Flourishing. You will notice that you will develop a taste for certain cards through handling various decks. Now I will suggest a few different decks; Monarchs, Tally-Ho, Aladdin, Smoke and Mirrors, Magic Con 2012 and Red Bee Stingers are all excellent cards. Our reviews can give you a good idea on what cards are good for Flourishing.