You are Here:
Initial Design Concept

Author (Read 942 times)

Initial Design Concept
« on: May 10, 2016, 04:59:32 PM »

aiza

• Newcomer
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here, I was inspired by Alvin from Sishou playing cards and I'm looking forward to trying my hand at designing my first deck of playing cards.

I've done some initial sketches, attached here. My idea is to design minimal, geometric playing cards. I started off with a dotted grid, and only using these dots, I created each suit by 'joining the dots'. For the back of the card, I started to combine these designs to create an abstract pattern. I intend to make the back quite intricate, so maybe 4 – 10 times the amount of overlaying that I have done here.

I would love any thoughts on what you guys think of the concept, and if the idea has any legs to develop into a full deck.

Thank you!

Re: Initial Design Concept
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2016, 03:53:23 AM »

Don Boyer

• VP/Dir. Club Forum/DAC Chair, 52 Plus Joker
  • Administrator
  • Forum Sentinel
  • Pick a card, any card...no, not THAT card!

• Facebook:
Hello, Aiza, and welcome to the forum.

You're picking some well-trodden territory as far as a deck design goes.  I couldn't tell you how many minimal and geometric deck designs I've seen over the past five or so years, but there's been a LOT, I mean a HUGE number.

This doesn't mean you can't make such a deck yourself, if you want to - but if you want it to be a huge hit, it really needs to stand out from the rest of the decks that came before it.  It has to catch people's attention.  While the concept itself isn't new or original, you can work on finding some aspect of the concept that hasn't been tried before and leverage that into a design people will stop to notice.