You are Here:
Branded vs. Unbranded Decks

Author (Read 974 times)

Branded vs. Unbranded Decks
« on: February 03, 2016, 01:36:14 PM »

pstaehlin

• Newcomer
Hello everyone!
I'm a new rookie card deck collector.  I'm curious to know why sometimes a branded(Bicycle) deck will be worth more than a unbranded deck?  And I've noticed sometimes it's the other way around. 
-Why is this? 
-Does it have something to do with the amount of decks made?
-Also, how and why does a card maker determine how many decks they will manufacture? example: (0001/5000), (0001/1500)

Re: Branded vs. Unbranded Decks
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2016, 05:13:42 PM »

Don Boyer

• VP/Dir. Club Forum/DAC Chair, 52 Plus Joker
  • Administrator
  • Forum Sentinel
  • Pick a card, any card...no, not THAT card!

• Facebook:
It's kind of a big question.

Playing card designers will try to seek whatever edge they can in the marketplace, especially as there are more and more Kickstarter deck projects.  One of the ways a designer will do this is to create a Bicycle-branded version of their deck.  There's a subset of playing card collectors who specialize in the Bicycle brand, sometimes to the exclusion of all others.  A subset of this subset will also strive to collect EVERY Bicycle deck that gets made, whether they're USPC-designed and -produced or produced by a third party company by USPC.  Not every deck gets to be Bicycle-branded - it does have to be approved by the brand manager, and certain things are off the table, like decks with Satanic imagery, nudity, etc.  But those that do can often see a slight jump in sales as a result of having that brand name.