You are Here:
Pictorial Review: Playing Arts Project, and Edition Zero (Playing Arts)

Author (Read 4568 times)

EndersGame

• Frequent Flyer
  • BoardGameGeek reviewer EndersGame
* * * PLAYING ARTS * * *

The Playing Arts people

I'm no artist, but I just love looking at art.  I'm fortunate that some of my family members are accomplished artists, some even professionally, so from time to time I get opportunity to enjoy and appreciate the results of their artistic talents and craft.

Certainly there are a lot of decks of playing cards that are artistic, but what happens if we combine them with true art, with commissioned pieces from actual artworks?  That's the concept of the Playing Arts series, which has now produced five decks of playing cards.    Playing Arts was organized by the same people behind Digital Abstracts, which is an online web design and digital art blog based in Spain.  It specializes in news, interviews, trends, and features about creativity and innovation in the world of art and design.   

The Playing Arts project

The concept began with the idea of collaborating with other artists, with the goal of creating a deck of cards featuring different artists from around the world, with each commissioned to design a single playing card.  Yes, every single card - not just the court cards - is a separate and complete work of art, and was created by a different artist!  Thus the Playing Arts project was set into motion.

The project itself is self-described as follows: "Playing Arts is a collective art project that gathers designers and illustrators from all over the world with an idea to express their vision of an ordinary playing card using personal styles, techniques and imagination."  Most of their decks of playing cards were produced through Kickstarter, with more than 1000 supporters on board to help fund the first edition, known officially as "Edition One".