You are Here:
What white do standard bicycle playing cards use?

Author (Read 1336 times)

What white do standard bicycle playing cards use?
« on: December 21, 2016, 09:12:26 AM »

Ziggletooth

• Newcomer
I've been designing a deck of cards over the last few weeks. I got the the dimensions from a printing company and used a combination of GIMP and Adobe Illustrator to put my deck together. I plan to send it to print when I am done.

This is my first time designing a deck of cards, and using those programs. I am not an art student either, so please bare with me.

My question is an odd one but I want to get this right.

I've designed my own suits and used custom assets but I want to have a normal white background. It has occurred to me that pure white (ffffff) might be too bright. I just want the normal white background used by standard bicycle playing cards.

When I look at a standard deck of bicycle cards I don't know whether they are using pure white and that's how it looks when it's printed or they use a duller white to make it easier on the eyes. What do they use? Sorry if this is a stupid question, I haven't had anything printed before and I want it to be correct.

Thank you

Re: What white do standard bicycle playing cards use?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2016, 08:36:23 AM »

Helshawk

The white used is just the paper stock.  There is many different types of stock used in printing and that holds true for stock used for playing cards as well.  Some stocks have artificial "whiteners" in them and, if you use a black light, it is easy to spot.  Sometimes, the whitener is added to the overcoating.  However, if you wish to dull your white areas down, just have a light tint printed over it.

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2017, 01:46:31 AM »

NineLives

• 52 Plus Joker Member
  • Discourse Lover
Hi Ziggletooth :)